2023 ISD 917 Inclusive Educator Award

Harrison and Teachau honored with ISD 917 Inclusive Educator Award
Posted on 01/23/2023
Tory Techau

This year two Farmington Area Public Schools, ISD 192 teachers were honored with the Intermediate School District 917 Inclusive Educator Award for their work to support the inclusion of the unique learners that are served in our school buildings. 

Tory Techau, an art teacher at Robert Boeckman Middle School, was nominated by her Intermediate School District 917 colleague Heather Webb, who praised her for always welcoming all learners into her art classroom and encouraging their creativity in all circumstances. Techau was presented with the award on December 9th in front of her sixth grade art class.

Jennifer Harrison, a fifth grade teacher at Akin Road Elementary School, was Jennifer Harrisonnominated by her Intermediate School District 917 colleague Anna Zappetillo for her work in ensuring all students are involved and included in her classroom. Both Techau and Harrison, along with award recipients from the eight other Intermediate School District 917 member districts, will be recognized at Intermediate School District 917’s January 10, 2023, School Board meeting.     

Intermediate School District 917 created the Inclusive Educator Award to acknowledge the incredible work of educators from their nine member districts, especially during Inclusive Schools Week. Inclusive Schools Week is celebrated annually the first full week in December by families, schools, and organizations in the U.S. and abroad. It highlights and celebrates the progress that schools have made in implementing inclusive practices to ensure a quality education for an increasingly diverse student population.